Just Call Me “Plumber Leyla”

Time for dishes again, it seems to be an endless daily routine over here – with only two of us making dishes too! As I filled the sink with water, I noticed that suddenly the water level was getting lower and lower. Surely this was my imagination yes? No! I tried the plug and it was in pretty securely. So I opened up the cabinet door and near pitched a fit. The pipe was streaming out water, not a steady drip… Oh no, that would never be the situation in the Hur household… Nope, this water was streaming out in a sort of a fountain.

I grabbed the closest bowl handy and sat there staring, as if my magic Romani stare would instantly plug it up, right. Wrong… Contrary to popular myth, Gypsies don’t come complete with magic. *rolls eyes*

Left-Side-w-ArrowBen moved over on the sofa so that he could see what was happening, and was as lost as I was. He asked me if something was “loose” – how the hell do I know if something is “loose”, you think I’m some handy woman or something? But alas, he wasn’t too far off. I began tightening every and anything that was loose – actually, just one part (shown with the red arrow in the photos) was loose, so I screwed it as tight as I could possibly get it with my bare hands… Maybe Romani have super human strength after all… 😉

Right-Side-w-Arrow

Right-side sink drain doo-hickey thingie-majig needed tightening too

I asked Ben if the water level was still dropping in the sink and Hallelujah it was not, and no water was leaking underneath either. WOO HOO Leyla! *pats self on the back*

Ben then congratulated me for fixing my very first sink… I am now ready to tackle anything… except that damn high powered hose thingy down the toilet to flush all the gross bits further into the black tank. Let me rephrase this… I am now ready to tackle anything not gross or nasty. 🙂

After fixing the leak – had to also tighten the same part on the right hand side sink – I then had a literal soapy lake to sop up. That presented another challenge for me… But it was easily figured out (yes, you have it right, I am not the most domestically Goddess blessed) and while I was down there, rearranged things and made it look quite neat and tidy underneath, plus I can now get more stuff in there… hehehe

Two loads of dishes later and the basin I eventually found and placed underneath to make sure there were no more leaks, gave me the big thumbs up by being bone dry.

So let’s see… what else can I fix in here…? Oh the fridge…

38134n

The “FridgeCool Fan with On/Off Switch” what we ordered. Now waiting anxiously for it to arrive. Hmmmmm wonder if it comes with instructions and best place to actually put the thing…

The back vents are icing over and only the top two shelves are nicely cold. Had to break down and order a fridge fan from Camping World, while we were at it, ordered a reflective dashboard window shade, let’s hope that’ll cut down on the heat that’s being generated in the vardo in this high heat – and to think, we’re only at the beginning of summer… SO have to get things fixed up so we can move on to some place else… some place cooler…

After a fair bit of research… on Pinterest… I learned that fridge fans are a basic necessity in RV fridges. But I wonder if I still have to defrost everything… It seems that freaky day where the freezer and fridge decided to defrost itself was a one-off. With veggies starting to go off in the bottom of the fridge, I think that we need to do something… Eat them all fast…? Maybe the fridge fan will work? Still have to wait for it to get here though – great getting internet sales, not-so-great having to wait 2 weeks (or more) for it to get here – anywhere else in the country and summer’ll be over by the time it arrives.

Anyone have any knowledge of these things and can give a bit of advise?

Leave a comment